Easter: Emergency Room

Easter was wonderful!  All weekend was beautiful, and I sat on my roof all day Friday, Saturday, and most of Sunday watching people and the T on Comm Ave.  I managed to go to my first Holy Thursday and Easter Vigil service.  I have to say, all types of religious services are great free entertainment.  I mean really, when was the last time you visited your local Hindu temple, Mosque, or Synagogue?  You may even be lucky enough to get a free or very cheap delicious meal out of it.  (There is actually a Mosque and Synagogue within two blocks of my house… I should visit!) Not to mention, sometimes historical churches charge to go in when it is not church time, like Trinity Church in Boston.  Go when there’s liturgy and not only will you get to see an AMAZING sanctuary, but you’ll probably also hear one of the best homilies in Boston (in my opinion).

Even more free stuff–the Boston Public Library across the square from Trinity–worth the visit.

Yeah… so Ascetic Paige goes to the ER.  Sunday was spent chillaxin and cookin, and lucky me, I didn’t injure myself until AFTER Easter dinner, and it made for a nice 3 hour break between entrees.  Pork loin, lamb, ham… delicious, but I guess cleaning up I didn’t know my own strength and broke a Sam Adam’s glass while washing it in the sink.  I think if I cut my left hand then the ER wouldn’t have been necessary… but I really need to invest in some sort of wound cleaner and super glue for my first aid kit!  This is the second time this year I’ve been super glued shut!  It only lasts like a day…

Housemate graciously drove me to the hospital.  We waited in the waiting room for an hour.  Then I waited in another room for an hour.  They did an x-ray, and then a Doc with dreads glued my gaping incision.

He made a joke that I wasn’t sure whether I should laugh at or not like, “$900 for a drop of super glue…”

*paige nervously laughs*

“…just kidding it’s only like $700.”

I am pretty sure it costs me $100.  But whatever… Ascetic Paige makes due.  I recently got a $56 check from my last trip to the nurse due to another fight in the kitchen (bread knife, sweet potatoes, very messy…).  That ought to help make up for this Easter adventure.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

