The Morning Witness

It was a beautiful Tuesday morning filled with more things happening than I can probably remember. I mean really, there was nothing out of the ordinary, but random things make me think, wonder, and smile.

First thing I noticed was a girl wearing a peacoat and gloves. I am wearing shorts. Granted I am typically cold even when it is warm–it is not that cold out! Or maybe I am just optimistic about the weather and she is pessimistic. I don’t know. But as soon as the weather starts to turn, I begin dressing like winter doesn’t exist.

Second, I was walking with my hood up all inconspicuous so no one would talk to me (not really, its just to tame my hair and keep warm), and I see one of my classmates is walking behind me. I half tried to get him to notice me, but I guess hiding in my hood works better than I might want. I did the next best thing: eavesdrop. He was chatting with a couple of [undergrad] girls about what he does at BC etc etc. It is 9 a.m., he is meeting people, and I am hiding. I haven’t quite decided what I think of this person, but I mean, everyone in my field is in it at least semi-altruistically. Right? There is no money in theology or psychology…

Spitting. I don’t know why, but this morning I noticed several guys spitting. It’s gross and funny, kind of like farting and burping. I was being lazy and was in the elevator with likely one of the BC basketball players (or wannabe player). He is rockin out with big white headphones, adjusting his overly large clothing in the elevator, occasionally singing a few lines from whatever is blasting in his head. Up seven floors, the doors open, and, like a gentleman, lets me out first. We begin walking in the same direction, but I am walking slower, he gets a little ahead of me and hocks a loogie probably about 7 feet to the side. He peaked back shamefully, and I just laughed at the grossness, ridiculousness, and morning charm.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

