Facebook: The grass is always greener

I love my life, but sometimes I want someone else’s.  Then I think, “Paige, what could you do with your current life to make it equitable to the lives you are jealous of?”  All I have to do is get married, move out of the country and study, teach, and/or travel around.  Simple enough.

Thanks to all the social networking sites I now know about everyone’s life I could be living instead of my own.  I can live vicariously though the adventures of others saving the world in Africa, studying in Germany, frolicking in South America, Teaching in Spain, Korea, China, Japan, missioning in Thailand, New Zealand, Nicaragua—-Yeah, those are my friends to be jealous of.

Through facebook I can even look at the lives I DO NOT WANT, and I can relish in the fact that I am single (thought marriage looks cool), I don’t have a baby (though I’ll probably have a few), I don’t have a real job (eventually I’ll get one), and I am not living in the middle states (even if it is way cheaper).

Reality check Ascetic Paige: My life is better than most, and only getting better, though grad school sometime feels like a trap.

On other ascetic notes: I will be moving next semester to a new house which is HALF the rent of my current house, and it will be glorious.  All I have to do is get tuition for the summer and next year taken care of and I will be set for grad school free adventures!  Though this month has been particularly challenging to save due to trips to the ER, Florida, and California.  But all is well!

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

