The Happiness Project Challenge

So in my seemingly infinite spare time I began masochistically looking at PhD programs, searching for a second job, avoiding calling and meeting with professors to discuss grades, and not cleaning my closets. I also commenced summer pleasure reading, something done quite sparingly.  First on the list, because it was one of the only things I have on my shelf that I haven’t already read on my shelf: The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.  Honestly, while I enjoyed Julia and Julia and secretly aspire to possible blog famousness, I am not so turned on by the concept of blogs to books (effing hipsters, stuff christians like, historical tweets, SO MANY!).  However, I am kind of amazed by the concept, and as far as I can tell, if you want to make it, even if you don’t like it, you gotta be tech savvy, and give people the illusion they have a nice peak into your life, interests, and opinions.  And this point  where I begin to do just that.

I have not finished the book, but in the third chapter Gretchen (the author) begins her blog.  Here I learned that to be a good blogger, you should blog every day. This makes sense to me, but to see it written down in a book, only gave me less of an excuse not to write for the public (aka blog) more often.  But there was more to it to that, Gretchen was blogging for the sake of her interest and raising her level of happiness.  So why am I blogging?  I think similar reasons.  I have interests, I have a goals (save money to travel, learn some self-control, and take advantage of as much free stuff as possible), and I like to write.

All that said, the challenge is to write more.  Explore my interests more.  Express my opinions more… Even if no one is reading.

Also, I have learned that for the sake of my happiness I should read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows again after I finish with Gretchen.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

