Food Inc.: Disturbing movie, thankfully not in a PETA sort of way

Over the weekend I half watched Food Inc. while I did other things and was slightly disturbed.  I was disturbed by how dependent we are on food (duh) and how we kind of have little to no control over it (i.e. we do not farm or hunt for our food… well, I don’t).  Sustainability is tough!  The man doesn’t want us to be sustainable cause then we don’t need him!  Okay, enough of that…

It was amazing to see where all the food comes from, and how it gets to where it gets, and all the engineering, and all the cutting of corners, and all the people not being paid enough, and all of the debt, and all of the crappiness about this industry that essentially keeps us alive (and literally preserves us).  Then after I was educated, I grilled and ate my evil dinner.

The food that was covered in the movie was beef, chicken, pork, corn, and soybeans.  Apparently, these are the foods that have become the easiest to mass produce and highest demand (thank you McDonalds).  They didn’t even cover fruits, veggies, and fish!  to be honest, I am kind of afraid to know how all the produce gets to me year round, that would probably make me feel guilty too… Food Inc. controversy was less about the food and more about the people.  The people making the product are not being taken care of in addition to the product not being good for the consumer.

So is this drastically going to change my diet?  No, but it did make me fantasize more about running away to sustainable hippie commune.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

