Sometimes killing bugs makes me feel guilty…

So I wake up around seven this morning and I look across my carpet in the slightly overcast lighting, and I notice the scariest bug ever casually walking towards my clothes.  It is a centipede, and these buggers are big, ugly and faster than most rodents.  I hate them.  It gives me an adrenaline rush just looking at them, so I avoid close contact.

But this time, it crossed the line–my clothes.  I sit in my bed strategizing how to best deal with this situation.  The centipede is in my clothes on the floor.  I look to my Rainbow flip flops as a possible offensive weapon.  I think, if I grab my jeans and try to search for this guy I will lose the battle.  Or I could just wait, and avoid my jeans for a few days… As I am thinking all this, Mr. Centipede casually walks away from my pants and towards my bed.  I grab my sandal, I’ve got one shot… WHACK!  Dead.  And I leave the remains as a message to its brothers.

I strongly dislike killing things.  Even ugly, scary, boundary crossing bugs.  But when push comes to shove, you gotta do what you gotta do.  It is me or the bug.  Spend a couple nights in rural Nicaragua, and there are bigger more worthy things to be afraid of than large insects, crustaceans, and arachnids.  I find I am more afraid of bugs stateside than when I am traveling, cause when I am stateside, bugs are the scariest and most unusual thing I have to deal with.  So, don’t be afraid, just do what you need to do.  Then send a little prayer up to the bug gods to relieve guilt.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes killing bugs makes me feel guilty…”

Leave a Reply

