Vibram Fivefinger Amazingness!!!!!!!!!!!

As promised several posts ago, I said that I would do a followup of Vibram Fivefinger shoes.  As you can see from the title of this post, I kinda like’em.

1. It is a very weird “shoe”.  When I first bought them, and was walking around in them, I was very self-conscious.  You WILL get noticed, and you will get all kinds of questions about them.  It may get you free dessert (like the other day when I was talking to a waiter and waitress about them, and then got free dessert), or it may cause you to reconsider your footwear options while backpacking across Europe (one of my friends said that he had to change into normal shoes because he couldn’t take all the Germans pointing and laughing at his shoes, my sister even found a pair in a thrift store in Belgium!)  Personally, weirdness soon gave way to comfort, and I stopped thinking about them altogether, except when someone points them out to me or when they started to become stinky…

2. They can really hold a STANK! Stinky stinky.  But you can really easily through them in the washer and they dry fast, but if you really want to get rid of the stink, there are several ways you can do so.  I found this thread quite helpful.  What I have been doing is going swimming in them–chlorine water does wonders!  Or you could just buy some expensive toe socks to go with them.

3. The first couple days and long walks hurt, but you begin to really want to wear nothing BUT the VFF.  Every morning is struggle deciding, “Weird/comfy/not really matching/sometime smelly VFF or flipflops?” All I want to do is run, jump, walk, swim, hike, slackline and play in my VFFs ALL DAY!

I love the concept of these shoes so much, I began looking at other “barefoot” options.  For example, Vivo barefoot shoes.  Super expensive, but a bit more stylish, and since I am attempting to be ascetic, purchasing a pair is in the very distant future.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

One thought on “Vibram Fivefinger Amazingness!!!!!!!!!!!”

  1. I’ve been looking at those shoes for a few weeks now. I’m going to have to save up for them. I believe they’ll be worth the dough, though.

Leave a Reply

