Movie review: Eat. Pray. Love.

Let’s start with the good:
The scenery was nice, the music was pretty good, and the presentation of the food in Italy makes you hungry. Julia Roberts looks like a normal sized woman. Also, a nice moral in the end is that you have to love others to love yourself, and love yourself to love others.

The bad:
I haven’t read the book, but this is like a SUPER CHICK FLICK. Three Romances in 4 awesome locations (New York, Italy, India, and Bali). For me, it was a little too romancey filled with unnecessary close-ups, and a lot of boring dialogue that makes you feel the time.

Again, since I didn’t read the book, I didn’t know what to expect. But here is what I expected: more beautiful scenery, more senses, smells, textures, that would make me feel like I was in each spectacular location. Maybe a little bit more inspiration and less dramatic love stories. I had no idea how spirituality might be shown in the movie, and it was ok, trying to be all-inclusive, but sort of fell flat. I just didn’t feel it, but I have to give props for a movie trying, its not easy to convey on screen.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

