Making Travel Videos

I was checking out the Frugal Traveler in the NYtimes and I came across an older article on frugal camera equipment and how to make a good travel video.  Matt Gross discusses some of the pros and cons of some equipment, and gives some solid advice on a number of issues like whether or not to use a tripod.  Other advice is to look for interesting characters and stories, don’t pan, try to avoid videoing yourself, and make a list of shots you’d like to get.  Anyway, I found it helpful considering my own video style or lack thereof (e.g. flying by the seat of my pants), and I will probably refer back when I am looking for a good camera in the spring.

Matt Gross also introduced Robert Reid who makes 76-second travel videos–pretty sweet!  Though I am still wondering why I don’t see any women in this business besides Samantha Brown… You know she has been working for the Travel Channel for like 10 years!  So there is one Samantha Brown to every Anthony Bourdain (my personal favorite), Man vs. Food guy, Bert the conqueror, and Bizarre Foods Andy Zimmerman.  Hmmm….

Wait wait wait!  There is a new model hosting Travel Channel “Food Wars“.  Though I don’t know if I would consider this a travel show, and I am pretty sure she is just a pretty face for the all-american pig-outeries. (Obviously, I have never watched the show.)

Point is: I graduate with two Master’s in the spring, I’m a woman, I have big red hair, I got video skills, please give me a job Travel Channel, NY Times, Huffington Post, Food Network, STA Travel… Whoever is listening 🙂

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

