Pros and Cons of a Good Story

So I’m kind of bored and with no plans for the upcoming holiday weekend.  Woo Boston pops wooo….. But that’s all the way on Monday!  I looked into flying to see friends in North Carolina (tickets were relatively cheap even a few days in advance.  I looked at cruises, and tons of spiritual retreats/getaways.  I looked to see if there was anyone on couchsurfing.com near a surfable beach.  I solicited facebook for possible excursions this weekend, but to know avail.  I’m relatively short on cash (because of other upcoming trips: Florida, Erie, Cape Cod, New York, and IRELAND), and I don’t want to push my car past the point of no return just yet…

I turned to meetup.com.  It basically gives me information on the coolest stuff happening in Boston and around Boston that I might be interested in, liiiiiiiike an all day hiking trip to Mount Lafayette in New Hampshire tomorrow (also a pub crawl on the 4th).

Pros:

  • I found something to do!
  • Hiking a new mountain.
  • Seeing a new place
  • Meeting new people
  • Getting to say I did it
  • Getting to say I did it in a totally unsafe/sketchy way
  • In all likelihood having an awesome Saturday
  • And consequently a better story than I might have had otherwise for my Saturday

Cons:

  • Waking up too early for a Saturday (5am)
  • Being in a car of complete and total strangers 2 hours there and 2 hours back
  • Hiking with complete strangers (though they probably won’t be complete stranger after the car ride, a day hike, and another day ride)
  • The possibility of encountering a craigslist killer-type situation
  • The possibility of dying in a car crash, being stranded on the side of the road, or on the side of a mountain with total strangers.
  • This is a 9 mile hike and I haven’t hiked or walked 9 miles at once for a while… I did Mount Monadnock last fall (no problem)… and I did Half Dome once when I was a Freshman in college (which is a bigger deal than I realized at the time).

Yeah, I’m probably just going to do it… up the ante and do it barefoot (vibrams). What do you think?

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

One thought on “Pros and Cons of a Good Story”

Leave a Reply

