Rich People Problems. Poor People Problems.

riococoDon’t you ever wonder how people who “make it” and do what they love and love what they do, got there?  I want to know logistics like: did you have any bills?  If so, how did you pay them?  Did you work really crappy jobs in order to get to your “dream job”?  Where did you live?  Did you have a car?  How’d you pay for that?  Did you ever take a break?  Were you in the city?  The country? The suburbs? What about rest, vacation, play, family, TV, facebook, movies?  Hobbies?  Children?  Marriage?  On my other blog I wrote a post called I hate this place for those of us occasionally feeling stuck, bored, and generally dissatisfied with life (even with our college/grad educations and full-time employment).

I know it’s probably just an excuse of a judgment, but in my mind, I imagine these people who “make it” as already wealthy with plenty of financial support in order to survive while they “do what they love” whether that be video game development or self-help site or non-profit or fiction writer… And many of the people I know who have made it, are that:  No bills, wealthy enough parents, and magical financial support–they were living the life before they started the life.

Any sort of “self-help” type video I’ve watched about pursuing your passion does not address these issues.  It also doesn’t address justice or those who really can’t pursue passion because of their social/cultural/economic situations, as if there are no blocks but ourselves (which, for many is the U.S. with a college education, might be true).   I agree, that the world would probably be a better place if we all loved what we do.  But I can’t imagine there are too many people who want to be plumbers or fridge repair paigemompeople or in customer service.  BUT we need those people!  Instead, we all want to be famous, recognized, published, bosses, travelers, helpers (who get credit), scientists, doctors, lawyers, independently wealthy, genuinely poor/living simply, teachers (at the perfect fit school), athletes, play, inventors, business owners… Did I miss anything?  We don’t want jobs that deal with the reality of life, but we NEED those jobs.  How can we reconcile the pursuit of passion when people’s basic needs are not being met, and we need people to work crappy jobs to help meet those needs?

There is one person I know, who appears to have “made it” without the financial magic–just hard work, some crappy, but all for passion and love: My mom.  Her success only began to feel salient AFTER I was in college, and she still has bills to pay!  (But she also manages to travel and vacation a lot, and also works, writes, and lives her own schedule: 3.5 day work week.)  So, if I’m on the same schedule as my mom to “make it,” I still have more or less 15 years.  I also need to have 5 kids in that amount of time. Better get to work!

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

