Lost Locavore

organicThis is difficult, sort of.  There is this endless sea of food all around me.  I don’t even feel like I’m trying to do this “locavore” thing.  From day one, I’ve been trying to figure out why am I doing this (Jesus?) and what are exceptions.  I discovered this blogger’s saying, “Small farms matter big.” Amen, sister.  This helped me to clarify some more.

However, If I was going to sum it up, my rule would be, “Be aware of what you buy.”  This leads to an exception: if I didn’t buy it, and it’s given to me, I can consume it.   The next wonder then has to do with going out to eat, which, unless I do some serious research, I will [probably] avoid.  I mentioned to my boyfriend that I wanted donuts at, probably as local as you can get donut shop, Twin Donuts. But I know that their 75 cent donuts are not in anyway shape or form made of local ingredients.  Even as a non-franchised homey diner thing they have happening, there is no doubt this place is doing what they need to do as cheaply as possible.  So, what do I feel about this?  Well, I don’t plan on going out of my way for a donut… But it may be my Pascal reward when all this is over-ish.

Other exceptions that [I think] are okay.  There are three things I consume everyday that are not local: coffee, tea, coconut oil, and butter. What I came across Simply Good and Tasty. They’s a locavore-ish type group located in Minnesota.  MINNESOTA.  If they can do it, I can do it.  And they’re realistic too.  It’s not fair, I live in a non-tropical location: there are no coffee beans growing here, there are no coconuts growing here, and there probably won’t be. Ever. In my lifetime.  So what do I do?

Buy Fair-Trade.

Buy Organic.

And I do.  This locavore experiment has encouraged me to learn what these things (“fair trade” and “organic”) actually mean, and Simply Good and Tasty helped me out with this.  I may dig a little deeper to find a good source of fair-trade organic coffee and coconut oil (and not just Starbucks and Amazon), but that’s the point.

Now, BUTTER.  That’s going to be another beast.  Dairy farm adventures will occur this weekend….

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

2 thoughts on “Lost Locavore”

Leave a Reply

