What is the weirdo locavore eating for lunch?

mysteryveggies
Mmmm. Delicious celeriac.

What are you having for lunch? I have been fixated on this since last night and this morning. Lucky for me, I got my Boston Organics box of local mystery veggies, and then promptly ended my subscription for this winter… Not that I don’t LOVE the challenge, but the taste of the Farmer’s Market last weekend demonstrated to me that there is A LOT more good stuff to be found, AND it gives me more creative freedom. Granted it’s going to take quite a bit of creativity to eat all these mystery roots. Honestly, I’m getting tired of roasting, boiling, soup, and salad (though it is delicious).

I really thought today’s lunch through–especially the milk part. This is what I have for lunch: apple, raw carrots, parsnips, daikon, homemade kimchi and a quart of local grass-fed whole milk (Shaw’s in Dracut, MA) to make sure the kimchi doesn’t kill me. I walked to the coffee shop (Fuel) around 7:15 this morning to pick up a quart of milk. Then, later at work, I was SUPER excited to see that I had a bag of trail mix someone gave to me. YES. More food.

I’ve been pretty good about only buying local. The only exceptions so far involve food and drink requests from friends who are visiting, and I might have bought some Ben & Jerry’s (sort of local-ish, but also fair trade!). I’m not trying to be perfect. I’m just trying to be aware. There are plenty of local businesses here in Boston that I could (and do) give my money to, but I have to ask myself, “Are all those local businesses practices in the best interest of the local and global economy?” Probably not, at least most of the time. There is even a Living Social deal at a local-aware restaurant called Bondo’s that I’m reluctant to buy (but I probably will because that steak looks delicious).

With this sort of thing, the only way to learn is try. And research. And try some more. It’s a deliciously dangerous way to live.

In other news, I got some butter, but I still need more! I don’t want to have to revert to back to milk… I had an AMAZING Lilac Hedge flank steak I marinated and broiled. $26 for nearly two pounds, four meals, worth every cent. I am still searching for the perfect place to buy ethical coffee in Boston. Any ideas?

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

