Eating well is not just about me.

Food trivia! Most farmers are women.
Food trivia! Most farmers are women.

I’ve been reading a lot about food lately.  I follow the paleos, neo-paleos, vegans, locavores, families trying to get healthy, weightloss, dieting, farmer’s markets, whatever.  I’ve looked at a lot of stuff, barely taped the surface, but it all seems so selfish.  Not necessarily a bad selfish, but it seems rare to me that I find someone who is eating well for their local/global community and not just for themselves. This is what I hear: 

OMG! I don’t want pesticides in my food!  You’re killing my children!  I need freedom!  I want to know what’s going on!  I need to take charge of my health and the FDA is preventing meeee!  I need to get healthy.  This makes me feel so good.  That makes me fee so bad.  Judgity judge judge judge….

Yes. All probably a little bit true, but I think it might be better if we changed perspective.  I’m not just eating well for me, I’m eating well because it may help someone somewhere else, I can be an example, etc etc.

If I eat well, I have to learn about what I’m eating and where it comes from.  The people who make it.  Why one thing might cost more than another, or which company does better work to feed the world and not just me.

If I eat well, I might have to force myself to garden.  I might even learn how to raise some animals.  I might learn more about farming.  I might learn about farming in places where they need help learning.  I might actually do something to help.

If I eat well, I might ask myself where all my food and stuff came from.  I might discover pocket of people being exploited.  I might buy better products that seek to prevent that.

If I eat well, maybe I’ll begin to cut down on waste and packaging.  Maybe I’ll learn where it all that is made and where it all goes.  I might find alternatives to how I keep things in my home.

If I eat well, maybe others around me will try to eat better, and maybe we’ll help the rest of the world eat. Period.

Eating well is not just about me, it’s about holistic hospitality and genuinely caring for and about my community.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

One thought on “Eating well is not just about me.”

Leave a Reply

