For Lent, I gave up Trader Joe’s

sadfaceThe other day, I was perusing the aisles of Trader Joe’s.  If you’re not familiar with TJs, it’s basically a single person’s/DINKS grocery paradise.  I’ve bought the vast majority of my groceries there for nearly 5 years. And I love it.  However, since becoming a Lent Locavore, and walking through Trader Joe’s, I realized that being a locavore means not shopping at TJs, or any large grocer for that matter.  It was kind of weird.

As a locavore, I can’t buy ANYTHING at Trader Joe’s.  There is NOTHING local there.  Or at least, nothing labeled as such.

If I lived in Cali, would it all be local then?  Maybe local, maybe not ethical…  Even everything with the “local” sticker in Whole Foods makes me a little skeptical.   In the end, I accept that TJs is really just an affordable specialty junk food store…

Does anyone out there know about the underbelly of Trader Joe’s?  They seem kind of elusive.  I found this article about the mystery of how/if Trader Joe’s is sustainable.

Protesting TJs?!?!
Protesting TJs?!?!

Have you looked at where their fish is from?!?!?! Five bucks per pound delivered from beautiful Thailand!  How?!?!?!  It blows my mind.  Sadly for me, it can’t be ethical…

The good thing about Trader Joe’s, I think, is that is does attract a certain food-aware consumer.  And eventually, those consumers might actually read the packaging, and advocate for better products, and Trader Joe’s, might change? Some? Maybe?

Personally, I think Trader Joe’s could be a perfect place to sell local stuff.  Their stores are small.  They have a good mix of expensive items and cheaper items.  A lot of hippies and foodies shop there, and those foodies and hippies are going to start going to the farmer’s market.   Goodbye Trader Joe’s.

Would it be possible for a place like Trader Joe’s (or even Wal-Mart) to have a space for local venders to sell in their store? Like a daily farmer’s market INSIDE my favorite grocery store.  Different farmers and sellers could be there different days.  I hope we get there.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

1 thought on “For Lent, I gave up Trader Joe’s”

Leave a Reply

