Lenten Locavore Learning: What is not local?

NOT LOCAL
NOT LOCAL

Well, at this point, technically, your lenten fast is over, and we are all mid-Triduum fast (which may or may not be the same thing you gave up for lent, it usually is).  As I have become better at eating local, it seems like there has been less to write about.  I eat a lot of veggies, meat, cheese, eggs, and that’s about it.

But at the beginning of this week, like with any good lenten faster, I started to fantasize about all the things I want to buy that are not local.  I began to make a list of what is tough (for me) to really live without… forever.  IF I were to be a “true” locavore.

Granted, I already have made an exception for coffee and coconut oil… What other things are tough.  What’s NOT local?

EVERYDAY:

  • [Coconut oil]
  • [Coffee]
  • Tea
  • Spices
  • Salt
  • OLIVE OIL

Not everyday, but I LOVE:

  • Bananas
  • Avocados
  • Coconut
  • Mangos
  • Basically any tropical fruit
  • Olives
  • Many grains
  • Rice
  • Chocolate
  • A lot fish/sushi (tuna, salmon, etc.) Sadface
  • All asian food, sauces, ricey things, soy stuff…
  • Vanilla
  • Pretty much everything you eat out (unless you really look)
  • ANNNNDDD anything processed

After I thought this list through, it’s actually not that much.  If I did as much research on these things as I did my coffee, I could probably find a good source.  If I can do it, you can do it.  And if that’s all that I eat that’s not local, I must be doing pretty good.

Here I am thinking that there is this endless list of things I can’t have because it’s not local: not so.  Certain things I can’t get during certain times of the year, but whatevs.  I can get it frozen!

I’m kind of amazed by this, and I can’t wait to have olive oil again.

What do you miss in your lenten fast or as a locavore?

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

