Perfection: I should have done better.

Nobody’s perfect… But you can feel pretty awesomely close to perfect! Take a deep breathe after each statement…

I forgive myself for believing… The job I’ve done isn’t good enough.  If I would have done better, I would have got what I wanted.  Someone will be angry or withhold love when I should have done better.  I have to beat myself up when I feel like I should have done better.  I probably won’t do a very good job next time either. I have to be perfect.  I have to make it.  What I do is no good as long as it’s not perfect.

I forgive others… When I think they should have done better.  When they don’t do their best.  When they’re not perfect.  When they’re annoying.  When I ask them to do something and they do it begrudgingly.  When they half ass things.  When they do a great job, and then whine about how they should have done better.

I give others permission to forgive me… When I do a good job and then whine about how I should have done better.  When I’m not perfect.  When I don’t do my best.  When I purposefully half ass things.  When I complain about needing to do something.  When I’m incapable of doing better.  When I really don’t want to do better.

I love and accept myself even when I’m afraid… I’ll never be good enough.  I’ll never do good enough.  No matter what I do, I’ll always think, “I should have done better.”  Even if I do it perfect, I still won’t feel better.

I give myself permission to accept… It’s ok to think, “I should have done better,” but not to beat myself up about it or expect perfection from myself.  I’ll never be perfect, but I will always be awesome.  I did my best given my circumstances.  I can’t change the past, but I can make better choices for my future.  Loving the work/job that I do makes it worth it.

Without having to be better or perfect, I am free to… Do my best and be happy with what I’ve done (even if I could have done better).  Feel better and do better next time without dwelling on imperfection.  Make better choices in my future.  Love myself and the work I do everyday even though it’s imperfect (and it’s always be imperfect.  Do an imperfect job and still LOVE it.  Never be better ever again, to just be me.  Be ok when others should have done better or weren’t perfect.

EPTworks.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

1 thought on “Perfection: I should have done better.”

Leave a Reply

