Affordable Healthy Eating?

Some regular eats for me.
Some regular eats for me.

Does this even exist?  Really?  I’m not sure.  Food is expensive in more ways than one…

I’m well into the 4th week of the Eat to Live diet, and here is what I consume during the week.

  • 4ish cups of nuts: almonds, cashews, walnuts
  • One head of Kale
  • 4 lbs of strawberries
  • 3 lbs blueberries
  • 7 cups of cooked beans, quinoa, peas, lentils (at least)
  • 5 lbs bananas
  • 1-2 lbs of spinach
  • 3-4 lbs tomatoes, red peppers, cucumbers, mushrooms, green onion, cilantro, basil
  • 2-3 lbs frozen cooked vegetable mix
  • 1-2 lb onion
  • Lots of seeds: chia, flax, hemp
  • Frozen pineapple
  • Cocoa

This isn’t exactly cheap for one person, and I shop at Costco (I’ve come a long way from locavorism).  And this doesn’t really feed more than one person.  Sure, you can get a lot out of frozen fruits and vegetables, but they do not taste as good as the fresh local [expensive] stuff.  It is true.  Once you start eating only fruit and veg, you can really taste the difference in a good and less good piece.  It’s kind of annoying… BUT once you have your stock of nuts and seeds, produce and beans are not that expensive (~$50/week).  Eat meat/seafood a couple times a week, and you are a health machine.

It seems like a short dense list of foods, but I make a lot out of it:

I could go on and on and on.  But you should just go to my Pinterest page instead.  Check out my Eat to Live board, and the Eat to Live SWEET STUFF.

Or just read THUG KITCHEN.  It is my life now.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

