I’m bored.

Where exactly does boredom come from?  As we’ve learned this week, people (kids!) will kill out of boredom.

I was never that bored, and around puberty (as many people are), I was especially bored.  Lately though, I’ve found myself saying it more often than I’d like.  Even when I’m doing things, I’m bored.  I watch Netflix: bored.  At work: bored.  Walking: bored.  Church: bored. Homework: bored.  My days can feel so boring! I feel like everything I do is just to avoid boredom!  Then I think about this Louis C.K. quote…

“I’m bored” is a useless thing to say.  I mean, you live in a great big vast world that you’ve seen none percent of.  Even the inside of your own mind is endless; it goes on forever, inwardly, do you understand? The fact that you’re alive is amazing, so you don’t get to say “I’m bored.”

Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 11.32.41 AM

It’s so true, isn’t it?!  Life is not boring, we just choose to feel bored with it.  We don’t try, or take risks, or say what we want/need to say, we’re afraid, we make excuses, we’re safe, so of course, it’s “boring”.  It’s not anyone else’s responsibility to make your life less boring, but you (and summer is almost over!).  A lot of these statements would be great on teens!

I forgive myself for believing…

  • I forgive myself for believing I’m bored.
  • I forgive myself for believing I’m boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing my life is boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing the things I do are boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing boring is a bad thing.
  • I forgive myself for believing the world is boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing that I have to do something destructive to be un-bored (eat, drugs, yell, over-work out, annoy someone, watch tv, the internet, too much facebook, kill or hurt someone).
  • I forgive myself for believing that being good is boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing it’s best to do everything I can to avoid boredom.
  • I forgive myself for believing I am the dictator of what is exciting or boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing I can’t have an exciting life.
  • I forgive myself for believing I can’t enjoy life even when it seems boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing I’m not creative enough to make my life less boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing inwardly and outwardly everything is boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing I can’t handle excitement.
  • I forgive myself for believing sometimes I’d rather be bored than deal creatively and imaginatively with my life and problems.
  • I forgive myself for believing I need excitement and stimulation all the time.
  • I forgive myself for believing I can’t simply be content with my life without boredom being an issue.
  • I forgive myself for believing when I do nothing, I’m wasting my boring life.
  • I forgive myself for believing there really is nothing I can do to make life less boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing it’s better to be bored than to take risks and be creative.
  • I forgive myself for believing if I’m creative, I’ll just end up being rejected and hurt, and probably back to boring.
  • I forgive myself for believing my story is boring.

I forgive others (whoever it may be)…

  • I forgive others for being bored with me sometimes.
  • I forgive others for not taking risks when the opportunity arises.
  • I forgive others for being boring and uncreative.
  • I forgive others for being angry with me when I’m lazy and boring.
  • I forgive others for not including me in their fun stories.
  • I forgive others for blaming me for their boredom.
  • I forgive others when I have to entertain them.
  • I forgive others for believing I am boring, and my life is boring and kind of wasteful.
  • I forgive others for needing constant stimulation.

I give others permission to forgive me…

  • I give others permission to forgive me when I’m bored and I shouldn’t be.
  • I give others permission to forgive me when I don’t choose the better story and them complain about being bored.
  • I give others permission to forgive me when I can’t simply enjoy being me.
  • I give others permission to forgive me when I whine.
  • I give others permission to forgive me when I am boring.
  • I give others permission to forgive me when I get angry at them for being bored/boring.
  • I give others permission to forgive me for not being an example of imagination and creativity in their life.

I love and accept myself even when I’m afraid…

  • I love and accept myself even when I’m afraid I’m a boring boring person.
  • I love and accept myself even when I’m afraid I’ll be bored forever!
  • I love and accept myself even when I’m afraid I’ll never figure out what to do to get out of my boredom.
  • I love and accept myself even when I’m afraid others won’t like me because I’m so boring!!!!!

I give myself permission to accept…

  • I give myself permission to accept I am not boring.
  • I give myself permission to accept no one is boring!
  • I give myself permission to accept life is exciting!
  • I give myself permission to accept to feel bored sometimes is ok, it can be peaceful.
  • I give myself permission to accept boredom can be transformed into vacation, contentment, meditation, writing, ideas, creativity, stories, relaxation…
  • I give myself permission to accept I can take risks.
  • I give myself permission to accept  I can be excited.
  • I give myself permission to accept I can be exciting.
  • I give myself permission to accept simply being alive is a gift and is full of excitement.
  • I give myself permission to accept I am creative and imaginative.
  • I give myself permission to accept I love life.
  • I give myself permission to accept being bored can be peaceful.

Without these feelings of being bored, I am free…

  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to have a fun and fulfilling and exciting life.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to choose a better story.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to feel peace.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to feel relaxed.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to feel content.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to feel love.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to feel all the good stuff of life no matter where I am or what I do.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to experience the divine wherever I am and wherever I go.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to know people better.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to know myself better.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to know the world better.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to learn.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to find my calling.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to be me.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to be creative and imaginative.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to take risks.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to fail.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to be ok being bored/boring.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to succeed.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to be successful.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to enjoy what I’m doing, and what I’m feeling as a human being.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to be loved as I am.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to love myself as I am.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to love others when we do nothing.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to just be, and love it!
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to smile, laugh, joke.
  • Without these feelings of being bored, I am free to be fully in the moment.

Those are some good statements, and they could probably go on forever.  For more powerful healing, and more personalized statements, contact me. EPTworks.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

