I’m giving up Justin Bieber for Lent

I have a confession to make… I’m a belieber. I’m ashamed to admit it, but it’s true. I’ll always dance to “I need somebody to love.” And I’ll always know “Baby” on the Ukulele (C, G, Am, F, Duh). Really, actually, I’m not giving up Justin Bieber for Lent. I’m just giving up Justin Bieber for my life.

jb memeYou see, I have this unhealthy tendency to follow him in the news. I go out of my way to Google “Justin Bieber.” I worry a little about him, then I don’t worry because I remember he’s barely getting out of teendome, and then I Google him to see what’s happening in his life. Through the entire Journals album, I hoped there would be some diamond in the rough song (there wasn’t), and I know, thus far, he does not deserve a Grammy.

The news says the same thing over and over about him: He got mad, he drove crazy, he vandalized a neighbor, he smoked pot, he got with this girl, he made more bad music. Welp, I’m done Justin. I’m not even going to bother to add links to all the ridiculous Justin Bieber stuff because then I’d have to search for it, and I’d have to read the latest news. I have a problem. Obviously.

And part of me even believes (beliebs?) that maybe if we all just left him alone, he’d be better off. Do yourself a favor, and don’t read anything about Justin Bieber (she says to herself). I’m going to do my best with this, and being a fan, who, at this point is tired of crappy news and music, the only time I plan to break this internet news fast is if A) Justin actually manages to make something akin to SexyBack (probably won’t happen), or B) Dies. My hope is waning on the SexyBack scenario (and I don’t even really think or hope he’ll die anytime soon), but I still have hope that somewhere deep down in that cutsie youtube pop pot head sensation he could make something other than bad R & B.

I don’t want to make too many caveats for myself, but if he ends up on “Where are they now?” in like 10-15 years, maybe I’ll check it out. But for the time being, he’s not worth wasting my brain space or internet time on, not his news nor his music. If you have the same problem or something like it, I suggest you do the same.

#giveupjustin

[Note: I’ve already given up Justin for about two weeks, and it has done wonders for my psyche. And without Googling, I know that he’s still alive, doing stupid celeb things, and making mediocre music. I’m better off without him. In the meantime, are you not psyched about Pharrell’s new album this week?!?!!!!!]

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

