Podcasting is Hard

A possibly made up statistic: The average podcast lasts 7 episodes.

Podcasting is hard. 2014-2015 are like the Years of the Podcast. I’ve watched as every person famous (Rob Bell), not so famous (Seminary Dropout), and infamous (Daily Theology) create all types of podcasts. From Serial to Working Preacher. I’ve been an avid listener of Newsworthy with Norsworthy. I’ve seen how some go from relatively unknown to some of the most popular in their genre interviewing N.T. Wright, Don Miller, new authors, and lesser knowns. I’ve even been waiting for some popular blogs to create podcasts (Junia Project).

I jumped on the bandwagon for $15/month at Libsyn with a really good idea, but struggled in the scheduling department. Interviewing is one thing, but trying to get people to create new content (and sometimes having to explain the concept of the lectionary) is a whole other thing. I don’t know if you realize this, but women who preach and/or are qualified to preach are extremely busy, powerful, and important people (not including the given: wife and mother). They don’t necessarily need to write or preach the word, because they are already doing the word. I totally get it because I am one of them.

All that to say, I’m too busy for this podcasting business at WomenInPreaching.com. I think I’ll keep the blog going (because it’s already paid for), but to podcast is too much for me. If anyone wants to adopt (or write!), let me know.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

One thought on “Podcasting is Hard”

Leave a Reply

