First Contact

[Just Be God’s: A Call to Continuing Conversion is a series of blog posts. You might want to start reading it from the beginning: Here.]

August 13

I sent a short email to Saint Ignatius:

Hello!

I was wondering if I could have some more information on the young professional group at Saint Ignatius. Also, I was wondering when RCIA starts. I’ll be at 5:30 mass if anyone is around.

Thanks!

Paige

 And I received a short email in return:

Dear Paige,

The young professional adult group will begin sometime in September. There will be a notice in the bulletin with the information.

Also, RCIA will begin in September and that will be in the bulletin also.

Sincerely,

Betty

Adm. Asst.

She might as well have written, “Refer to bulletin.” Not helpful, and with those dates, I don’t need to really think about it for two weeks. Great.

The question that repeats itself is, “Why?” Most would probably give up after a lame curt email. The answer is in part, “Why not?” Or how about, “When?” When did I begin considering this journey of Catholic confirmation, or maybe even conversion. When does anyone really reflect on how and why they transform, grow, or change? It’s usually retroactive. I think it was when I began not to think of it as conversion. Or I began to think of conversion as something that is required in the Christian journey. My theologically minded peer-group, and my mother, seem to understand.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

3 thoughts on “First Contact”

  1. As the person who would be answering your email if it were my workplace, I feel sad and annoyed. These are not transactions, they are transformations. Where is the welcome, the joy, the anything.

    I have a list of things not to say:
    1) Are you a registered parishioner?
    2) Do you use envelopes?

    I avoid the word no, even if that may be the answer.

    And never say “check the bulletin!”

Leave a Reply

