Do I wanna preach?

[Just Be God’s: A Call to Continuing Conversion is a series of blog posts. You might want to start reading it from the beginning: Here.]

August 28

September 29,

That’s when Clint asked if I would preach. And I would like to reiterate from August 26th, “Is he crazy?” He doesn’t know me. I don’t know him. The church doesn’t know me. I don’t know them. I’ve been attending less than a month! Well, I suppose in a broader sense, being from the CoC, I do know them, and they do know me. It has been barely three days, and I’m on the preaching circuit (if I want).

On the first day of creating my spiritual habits (Mass, CoC, and RCIA), I asked myself, “I wonder if they’ll let me preach.” I got that answer quick.

Last year around this time, in my spiritual life, I was simply seeking grounding, discipline, comfort. This year, I’m issuing for a challenge, and in three weeks, I have it. RCIA hasn’t even started. So, “Do I want to preach?”

If the answer is “No.” Excuses being, well, I’m not that Church of Christ. I’m a bit of an imposter. I’m kind of more Catholic (but not really). I’ve never preached before. I’m not smart enough. I won’t do a good job. I don’t know what to preach about. I’m not going more than 20 minutes. I never ever planned on being a preacher(ette?). Nothing will come of it. I’ll preach a couple times, and be done. Probably just give up on the CoC again.

If the answer is, “Yes.” Reasons being, well, the Church of Christ needs it. I was asked. I have the education. I have the background. I like to rock the boat. It’s in my blood. Being Catholic really makes no difference here. Having a pastoral degree, being a woman, being Church of Christ, and attending a Church of Christ I’m kind of asking for it. I want to?

I can’t honestly say I want to or not, because it was never an option for me growing up. No one asks the little girls, “You want to be a preacher when you grow up?” Not even in a joking way. I could be a NFL referee or a construction worker before preacher. So, how can I know?

Now that I think about it, I have no idea how women in the CoC end up being on the payroll (outside of secretary). Like, how? Linda Truschke has been Campus Minister at Pepperdine for about 15 years—how did she get that job 15 years ago? Same with countless ladies representing in the CoC. It couldn’t have been easy.

It’s been a fight for them. But me? I’m just asked randomly on a Sunday morning, “Want to preach?” No weirdness. No fight. No question. Just a matter of fact need for a woman. And here I am.

In my opinion, every woman there is capable of preaching. It’s not like the CoC has some standard (obviously), except maybe being church of Christ. In my experience, the males aren’t even jumping at the opportunity to preach (or pray, read, pass communion plates). I never really understood that.

Then there is this form that I need to fill out to be “a member” of the Brookline CoC. I was hesitant about this too, but then I remembered that I’m planning on attending all year… So, I guess that’s fair then.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

1 thought on “Do I wanna preach?”

Leave a Reply

