Communal Faith, It is Enough

Just Be God’s: A Call to Continuing Conversion is a series of blog posts. You might want to start reading it from the beginning: Here.

September 19

Well, I told my friend today about preaching and RCIA. He said I need to have a reality TV contest where people compete to be my sponsor. I am very popular. Then, he proceeded to say, “I would be a horrible sponsor.”

“Well, maybe the reasons why you would be a horrible sponsor, is precisely why you would be a great sponsor.” (Yes, I said precisely.)

He laughed in understanding.

“What would make you a bad sponsor?”

“Well, I, don’t believe… it.”

So what. Then, I remembered Nadia Bolz-Weber describing faith being communal, not individual. It’s a weird concept, especially in Western culture. The idea is that there is enough faith to go around. Whether or not Doug is my Confirmation sponsor, maybe between the two of us, there is just enough.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

