An Old Fashioned Evening Prayer

Just Be God’s: A Call to Continuing Conversion is a series of blog posts. You might want to start reading it from the beginning: Here.

October 24

Loving compassionate God. My first thought these days is always, “I miss you.” Though I’m not sure what I miss. You are as close as ever. Walking with me as I go to work. Sitting by me in Mass. Speaking with me at church. Talking to me at RCIA. Listening to my heart as I work and at work. Blessing me with laughter, tears, food, and nature every day.

I’m so consumed with life and with the screen, and with the future, I don’t notice. But I want to notice. I want to thank you. And I want to give gratitude and praise where it is due. Thank you for family and friends, for dry weather, for Steve, for the spirit, for the kids in RCIA who laugh at my jokes, for Sr. Mary and her seemingly unwavering faith, for Baxter (my fish) who shows me how simple and fulfilling life can be.

God, I remember I used to go on and on in prayer. I’m not sure what I was going on about. All I want to be is a grateful servant. Continue to fill my heart with gratitude that flows more deeply into vocation and calling for my life. Maybe it’s obvious here in this writing whatever it is I’m supposed to do, but I’m blind to it. Fill me with gratitude and revelation.

Amen.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

