It’s an Addition not a Subtraction

Just Be God’s: A Call to Continuing Conversion is a series of blog posts. You might want to start reading it from the beginning: Here.

February 7

The Catholic paperwork is in. My mom had to write a witness to my baptism. I called and emailed, and I was never able to get a confirmation from the Castleton church of Christ about it. Not a word. I thought for sure that the church would have a record of the people baptized there. My mom thought that was laughable.

I was asked by a friend, “Why are you becoming Catholic?” Well, I’m not sure I am, but I figure I should give them a chance. I’ve explained what I like and don’t like, over and over. It hasn’t changed. There were a couple things my buddy pointed out to me.

One, becoming Catholic isn’t exactly a huge cultural shift for me. I’ve been doing this for a while. As Dr. Colleen Griffith (Professor sat the Boston College School of Theology and Ministry) told me, “Well, you certainly took your time.” Steve seems to think there could be a huge cultural shift. And, I guess, there could be. I could go from being super involved in Protestant church to super involved in Catholic church. I actually can’t be super involved in both. I mean, I don’t really know. It’s easy to just attend mass, but is all that what I want to do? Unsure.

Two, he said, “It’s an addition, not a subtraction.” I’m not going from a gay-affirming, women empowering, inclusive Christian culture to the opposite of that. I’m just going from a non-universal fundamentalist church, to a universal fundy church (but still less fundy than my Protestant background). I imagine that if was raised UCC, ELCA, PCUSA, or Episcopal, I would NOT go Catholic. Because, this might be a subtraction.

Is it wrong to think, those Protestant groups don’t need me. And if they do need me, they need me as a Catholic. This is why I struggle so much to abandon the church of Christ altogether. I don’t want to leave until you tell me to leave. I’m going to be here, and I’m going to break the rules, and I’ll see you in heaven.

Then again, I don’t know. Maybe I would still go Catholic if I was Episcopal. It’s an addition, not a subtraction.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

Leave a Reply

