The Call to Continuing Conversion

Just Be God’s: A Call to Continuing Conversion is a series of blog posts. You might want to start reading it from the beginning: Here.

March 9

Today was the Rite of Election for the Catechumens at the Cathedral. For all us “Candidate” people, it’s called, “The Call to Continuing Conversion.” That’s a pretty interesting phrase. I kind of like it. Shouldn’t we all be continuously converted? I think to myself, “Yeah, that’s what’s happening. I’m being continually converted.”

At the Rite, they call the catechumens and the candidates up to the altar separately. The deeper I get into this, the more I think that there really needs to be something different for the candidates versus the catechumens, but then again, everyone’s different. We all go up, and the Cardinal says, “Have they faithfully listened to the apostles’ instruction proclaimed by the Church?”

Sponsors, “They have.”

Cardinal, “Have they come to a deeper appreciation of their baptism, in which they were joined to Christ and his church?”

Sponsors, “They have.”

Cardinal, “Have they reflected sufficiently on the tradition of the Church, which is their heritage, and joined their brothers and sisters in prayer?”

Sponsors, “They have.”

Cardinal, “Have they advanced in a life of love and service of others?”

Sponsors, “They have.”

Cardinal, “And now I speak to you, my brothers and sisters in this assembly: Are you ready to support the testimony expressed about these candidates and include them in your prayer and affection as we move toward Easter?”

Everyone, “We are.”

And then we sing a little, and then we’re done. Doug was there as my sponsor. I call him my bad cop sponsor. He wonders why I’m doing this again. Today’s answer: Because I like it.

A lot of Catholics, and a lot of Protestants look at me like I’m crazy doing this. I’m just drawn in, like a moth to the flame. No expectations. Just pure desire. I’m in it. I’ve been in it. I ought to either quit or go for it. I’d rather go for it. And I’m reasonably sure that I’ll want to go for it in the future at some point anyway. I’m marrying a Catholic. I’ll be raising Catholic kids. I don’t, personally, have a solid tradition to stand on. I want to raise well-rounded kids, no doubt. But I’m okay with Catholicism being home-base.

I know it all looks suspicious… I started RCIA knowing I was going to be engaged to a Catholic soon, going to be in a Catholic wedding, and raise Catholic kiddos. Yep. Suspicious. But I’ve also been going to mass since before I met Steve. I have Catholic family. I’ve thought about it before. Even more suspicious is my desired to be employed by the Catholic church. No. Actually, I want to be employed by any church or in any ministry position. It may help me to be Catholic for a Catholic position, it may not matter at all. I don’t expect to magically get a Catholic job after becoming Catholic. It may hurt me in Protestant world, but, I don’t know if I want to be a part of a Protestant world that does that.

It’s also funny that I don’t hold the same standard for the Catholic church. That’s not totally true. I’ve always been annoyed at how you have to be Catholic to do Catholicy things, and this holds true for a lot of denominations. But for a lot of Protestants, you don’t have to be full on whatever denomination, to be hired. And I would hope if you are a certain denomination, that wouldn’t bar you, just the same.

I keep coming back to the fact that I like it. I’m marrying a man way Catholic. And since I’m not opposed, I don’t see why not go with him. I’m not going to change him, and he’s not going to change me, even being officially “Catholic.” Continually converted… But we’ll be together on the journey, participating fully. I want that. Even if I don’t totally like the way the Catholic church does it, I can’t think of any church where I do totally like it.

Author: Paige

Explorer. Healer. Eater. School counselor, teacher, party planner. Personal passions are holistic healthcare education, spirituality, food, and writing.

One thought on “The Call to Continuing Conversion”

  1. Thank you for this, it resonates with my own feelings about becoming Catholic, although our circumstances are probably very different. Like you I have been through the RCIA sessions over the last few months (I imagine they’re quite similar here in the UK) but have not gone through to the Rite of Election. It’s probably the right thing, I am not really ready, but I really wish I could – hopefully some time in the future.
    Best wishes, Richard

Leave a Reply

